A sample from my third book

GOING BANANAS IN YOUR PYJAMAS FROM LACK OF SLEEP?

Digital Camera               Digital Camera

Ripe bananas                                                Unripe bananas

Bananas are one of the most widely eaten fruits, in my opinion, yet it appears that many people don’t know how to eat them. I’ve seen so much information on bananas and their health benefits, but unless bananas are ripened to the speckled stage in the picture above, they only create problems in the body, especially mucus in the intestines, indigestion and constipation, among a myriad of other ills. Bananas contain tryptophan, one of the twenty amino acids in protein needed as building blocks in the body. The more ripe a banana is and permeated with brown spots, the more tryptophan is present.

Metabolism of tryptophan to serotonin and melatonin: L-tryptophan converts into 5-HTP, which then readily converts into serotonin chemical, the feel-good factor in the brain. Once serotonin neurotransmitter is made, the pineal gland in the brain is able to convert it at night into melatonin, the sleep-inducing hormone. Serotonin starts its process in the gut and walking for up to 20 minutes a day helps in the transaction. A sedentary lifestyle doesn’t help.

Eat a banana a few hours away from your last meal and an hour before sleep, to get a good rest. A ripe banana eaten after meals, soothes an upset stomach of indigestion, acidity etc. Bananas (like organic inulin from chicory), helps to stimulate good bacteria in the gut, (especially after antibiotic treatments) but again, they have to be consumed in their ripened stage, as above. Probiotics, prebiotics and acidophilus do something, but only as a short term remedy. When my uncle (who is also qualified chef and he who initially introduced me to the catering world), recently told me that to this day, ripe bananas are being thrown away in the kitchens he works or has worked in, because they’ve gone speckled, I was astounded.

In my young adult years in my family, nobody eats  bananas unless they are ripened as above. Otherwise, they don’t benefit the body. Yet, on several occasions I’ve witnessed people eating bananas and giving it to young children and infants, when they are unfit to eat. Sometimes so unripe, that the skin breaks in the process of peeling. Such bananas are grainy in the mouth and full of stain. What is the world coming to, when we don’t even know how to properly eat a simple banana? Being pale-yellow and spotless in colour, as we see them in supermarkets, doesn’t mean they are ripe enough to eat. Matter of fact, I was told by a very senior Naturopathic practitioner with decades of experience, that they otherwise also cause or aggravate tinnitus – ringing in the ears. It would be extremely counter-productive for supermarkets to sell bananas or any fruits  in their very ripened state, but it doesn’t mean we can’t bring them home, wrap them in a bit of paper and patiently ripen them ourselves.

Eat foods such as cherries, chickpeas, romaine lettuce, almonds, spirulina, oats, etc. rich in tryptophan to increase serotonin in supporting melatonin, to help with insomnia. Counting sheep, alone, will not do. Rather, you will only lie there, wool-gathering. Rooibos tea selling everywhere, helps to aid sleep and there is a wonderfully clear 5 mins video on this link, which clearly and easily demonstrates how to prepare banana flower below, for eating: http://theindianvegan.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/all-about-banana-flower.html It can then be cooked in stews with coconut milk and butter beans to make a tasty dish, just to give you an idea if you ever come across it in Asian food shops

. Digital Camera                    Banana flower 009

Very green bananas                                          Banana flower

When I was traveling in India, a wise gentleman said to me to eat cooked green bananas in the photo above, as they are good for the stomach; those very green ones you find outside regular supermarkets. Cut off the top and bottom, boil in water with a squirt of lemon juice and a pinch of salt until the skins split or until they are soft. Mash with butter and enjoy.

Try using a shiatsu massager, especially the type which rolls up and down the subtle  channels of the spine and neck to increase circulation and aid sleep. A little pranayama of anuloma-viloma can help to relax the mind before sleep also. Sit up straight; close the right nostril with right thumb and inhale through left nostril, then immediately close the left nostril with the middle and ring finger and release the right thumb while breathing out. Again breathe in through right nostril then close with right thumb,  releasing the left nostril while breathing out. Repeat the process and continue alternate breathing like this for few minutes and increase daily for up to 5mins. You can do this any time of the day when stressed as well. It balances the left and right hemisphere of the brain and aids with other problems of the mind.

Tip:  For good feng shui, the foot of the bed should not be facing the doorway, as it is very inauspicious and said to almost bring death. It should be positioned so that the feet is stretched towards the right or left of the door.  The rhythm of melatonin production is strengthened by a daily routine of eating and exercising. Vigorous activities, like exercising at night, delays melatonin secretion, but done during the day or better in the morning, helps to regulate melatonin production. Avoid stimulants at night which interferes with melatonin. Light meals at night, or what I call moon foods. Daily place the inside part of banana skins on warts and suspend it with a sticking plaster to watch them go away. Refresh the peels everyday. Much more on sleep in my book out soon and a little addition from it, below.

A homage to the peculiarity of British cuisine

A ‘toad in the hole’ observes  a ‘Welsh rarebit,’ as the stomach ‘bubble and squeak’ for want of food. When a plate of ‘bangers and mash’ arrives, the senses begin ‘singing hinnies,’ so much so that they start to perceive ‘angels on horseback.’ The meal is then relished with a serving of ‘spotted dick,’ and tempered with the ‘flummery’ of a slender ‘bloody Mary,’ in all her ‘knickerbocker glory’ when it’s realized that it was just one of those ‘offal’ days of unrequited ‘love in disguise,’ from a bit of ‘crumpet.’ But all is well that ends well, with a ‘Bakewell tart’ or roll over in shock with a fat ‘roly poly.’ (For those who don’t know, that which is in quotation mark, are names of foods.)

70 thoughts on “A sample from my third book

  1. Yep. Eating unripe food raw is not good for you!

    As for sleep aids, what are your thoughts on Valerian as an herbal supplement? I’ve taken it on and off since childhood. My *awesome* neuropsych was the one who recommended it to me. It doesn’t make you sluggish or groggy. It doesn’t even make you *sleepy.* Instead it’s got a very soothing effect like listening to a cat purring; so it makes you *able* to fall asleep.

    Like

    • I know about valerian, but it can create vivid dreams for some people including me. I used to take it, but it doesn’t work as much as the protocol I presented in my upcoming book, which is not herbal based, but one that assists the body’s own natural rhythm. But great if it works for you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I’m sorry! I didn’t realize that, as I’m prone to very vivid dreams anyway…. but they’re almost invariably induced by my emotional state when I go to bed. I get horrible stress dreams that leave me exhausted in the morning. But if I take Valerian I get these really weird, trippy dreams instead, and when I wake up, I just go “what a weird dream!” and laugh.

        That’s just my experience though! I definitely agree that if you’re not used to vivid dreams, you should stay away from Valerian. 🙂

        Like

      • Oh dear, that must be exhausting. It is why I thought to share all that I know in my book, so that people like you can gain some benefit, especially as so many people suffer from lack of sufficient sleep. I trust there will be something in it for you. It’s just now in the publication process which will take some months before it’s out. So hang on in there 🙂

        Like

  2. I didn’t know any of this! I’ve recently been adding a banana daily, but the store bought unripe kind. I’ll now change up to ripened at night as part of my “midnight snack”. Looking forward to reading your book.

    Like

    • You made me smile; thank you. Practically everyone eats bananas, but I felt the need to discuss them, due to my own observation when I see people eating the unripe versions. It will make a difference to eat them properly and I can personally attest to that 🙂 Thank you again for reading. Kind regards.

      Like

  3. I work as a nurse and have sometimes seen nearly green bananas given to patients as snacks… I’m always astounded because I think they taste better speckled. The taste almost gritty while green or just past green, Thanks for the article!

    Like

  4. I’ve been digesting this information and found it to be amazing and helpful. I love bananas but they always gave me gas so I quit them. Too much sugar too. I’m not a healthy person so I have a lot to learn. This is quite a legacy you are leaving behind. Most of us don’t have that much to offer.

    Like

  5. I have found that I cannot eat bananas when the weather is warm, as once ingested, mosquitoes enjoy my flesh. Would that change I wonder if I ate them as they were more ripe?
    Do you know of foods that are good for us but repel (especially biting) insects?

    Like

    • Hmm, type of foods to repel mozzies… I’ve never thought about that, as even when I used to live in India where there are a lot of them, I used to put few drops of citronella essential oil in some carrier oil and rub my body to repel them. Funny, you can’t eat bananas for the mosquitoes, yet by rubbing the very inside of the banana peels on the bites, is the antidote to stop the itching.
      Alternatively, you can rub the peels of oranges or lemons on your skin to repel them; that being, unwaxed lemons or oranges. Some rub vanilla extract on their skin to repel them, but that’s a bit extravagant for me, especially when vanilla is so expensive.
      One thing I know for sure, is that, mosquitoes love a sweet blood. I live on green juices, so they don’t come near me lol 🙂 Whatever the case, bananas should only be eaten when properly ripened. Hope this helps…

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Great advice about bananas and spot on about British cuisine. Love your medley of food names…indeed one wonders where the health benefits might be hiding in some of those? So well written, thank you!

    Like

  7. “For good feng shui, the foot of the bed should not be facing the doorway, as it is very inauspicious and said to almost bring death.” ~ I have a friend who is Ukrainian. She told me many years ago the same thing, adding that in her culture, when someone dies they are transported out of their house, feet first. I remember she never slept with her feet facing the door, even when we lived in the dorm.

    I like the banana part of the post though 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, indeed; these little considerations help. Some ancient knowledge has been lost over time and I’m just recapturing some of it to help myself and others 🙂 Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  8. Ha! My husband won’t be allowed to toss our spotty, ripe bananas anymore. I suppose he can make them into a smoothie, since he doesn’t like the texture when they’re ripe. This was a really interesting post; I learned how to eat bananas, my bed is facing the right direction (thank goodness – because it won’t fit the other way) and I’m going to try your breathing technique tonight. I look forward to visiting again soon; you have a new follower. 🙂

    Like

    • He he, I’m glad he can now find another use for those speckled bananas 🙂 I, too, was once throwing away such bananas until I learned differently. I’m pleased it all helped. Thank you so much for your visit and comment. Hope the breathing technique will enhance your sleep 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I used to be a coach and trainer for years, and I can say that only ‘the old school’ guys on the gym knew about the right bananas to eat… Great article by the way 🙂

    Like

  10. Oh my goodness this is fantastic! I freaking love you already. I am so glad you found me on here because this is my obsession other than writing fiction crazy paranormal dystopian madness, food and health are my thing. I have a special son who is allergy to 47 foods. I know sounds almost insane so I am pretty obsessed with learning everything I can to help better his life. So excited to have found your blog. AWESOME!

    I am kinda nervous… I just recently (a week ago) moved my bed. The foot of the bed faces the door… well maybe you could kinda say the foot of the bed is on the opposite wall of the door and the double doors if one is closed well… it faces the door. 😦 I like facing the door to write and seemed like a good idea when I was creating my writing corner, but now I’m curious to find out more about this. Thanks so much! Congrats on the third book! I am impressed.

    Like

    • Oh my gosh, 47 foods; that’s a lot for your son. Dear me, how do you manage? Must be so hard. I have few allergies, but not so much, because I try to build up my immune system so that I can incorporate more items.
      As far as your bed, it seems fine, the way you explained. The point is that the door shouldn’t be open with your feet pointing directly at it when you sleep. But don’t worry or put extra pressure on your mind. Who God protects, nothing or no one can can harm, so never be anxious. You have enough to deal with already 🙂 Thanks for you heart-warming comments. I send you lots of love and light 🙂

      Like

  11. Jai Shri Krishna Dear! Very Informative post you shared, actually before reading this post i was also one of those on wrong track 🙂 now i know something useful 🙂 and that banana’s flower recipe is ma favrite 🙂

    Like

  12. This is very interesting. I love ripened bananas! I had no idea of all their health benefits. I stopped eating them for awhile. I’ll be going back to eating a banana a day. Thanks for the info.

    Like

  13. Hi, the ripe banana looks rotten. You mean they’re good that way? When I buy them from the store, they’re usually yellow or a little green, but I sometimes wait a few days to get them soft. They taste better that way. But you’re saying they’re better when rotten? They’re soggy and smell at that stage. Please explain. Thank you.

    Like

    • If you research any health book, you will see that when bananas are ripened to speckled stage, they are better for the body that way, as I explained in my post. Speckled doesn’t translate as rotten.

      Like

  14. Great information, yes, usually when we don’t get a ripe banana in the market, we buy them and consume the next day. But not to let it ripe very much ! 😉 may be maximum 2 days… And yes, the ripe banana is also tastier than the unripe banana. 🙂 🙂

    Like

  15. This is such a great post. I learned about this correct way to eat bananas only a few months ago after decades of eating them with an all yellow peel. And I didn’t eat them very often because they gave me heartburn…and now I know why! I now only eat them once they are speckled and have no trouble digesting them. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

Leave a Reply

