Substantiating the journey of my first two books

I started writing some years back as a therapy, which gradually turned into my first book renamed ‘Assigned From Beyond.’ At the time, I felt like a pregnant mother about to give birth, as it was as though I would explode with the myriad of past impressions, that were haunting my mind like adverts on a film reel. It all descended on me like a burst dam and all I could do, was to keep writing whatever came through and trusting that flow. I didn’t judge myself in the process, as that’s one of the worst things a writer can do. I find that it creates subtle mental blockages. When I satiated all that needed to be expelled from within me, I began to fine tune it all. It was by no means an easy journey, as I was extremely trammeled by various external factors as well.

By the time I reached a place where I was approaching different publishers, who mostly of course,  compensated my painstaking effort with endless rejection letters or exacting fees towards publishing my work, I by then, felled victim to a harrowing problem with my head. This naturally, suspended any further literary engagements for a good few years in which, what I experienced unequaled hell; unable to walk, unable to speak. It didn’t help matters, when in the midst of all this turmoil, my 13 years relationship ended, as my partner walked out on me to find someone else, soon after.

I literally crawled myself back into a state of activity, as my surroundings didn’t allow me to simply get well. Shooting down the moon, I finally ended up composing my second manuscript renamed ‘Fate’s Mantra’ again as a coping mechanism to deal with all the traumas and what wasn’t far from PTSD.

Reliving the past, I attempted several publishers who rewarded me with practically the same responses as I initially encountered with the first manuscript. By this time, I resigned any further endeavours towards the publishing industry, which assumed itself to be Goliath and I, David.

I began to fully concentrate what was left of my debilitated energy into getting well, when finally, I was offered a publishing contract; albeit it wasn’t the type of publisher I had envisioned, which was why a year later, I excused myself from the company and self-published. One has to start from somewhere, even if that place presents itself with attributes that are modest, not to put too fine a point on it. The other option is to keep trying, if you have the mental and physical resources to do so. A fellow writer’s first book was rejected 78 times until he later won a prestigious award, after which his sales rocketed overnight.

Having authored two books under such excruciating and incredulous circumstances, I forgive myself for any imperfections that the reader’s eyes may catch. I had to do it all myself, with limited and challenged faculties. But I did it with the idea, that essence is more important than form, when one is faced with such intractable situations. I did my best and that’s all anyone can do, really. 

Lorem ipsum “Neither is there anyone who loves, pursues or desires pain itself because it is pain”.

My last words for any new writer:

Just take the first step and pen down a few words at a time about what you believe in. Chances are, others will believe in it too. Not everyone will like or compliment your work, as that’s just the nature of the world. You cannot please everyone. Never judge yourself as you are writing. Trust what is coming through, as you can always go back to proofing your work when you’ve completed what you’ve set out to do. Be patient with yourself, because it takes time and perseverance to accomplish anything.

It’s good to have a dream, but keep it realistic. Don’t write to become the next millionaire author, because it’s very unlikely many of us ever will. But simply write because it’s what you love to do. If it’s meant to be published, that will take its own natural course. You just do the work and the rest will unfold in time. When you’ve reached thus far as to start approaching publishers (if you don’t take the self-publishing route), never start doubting your ability to write, because of rejection letters. Try not to take it personal and do remember to inquire if publishers charge an author fee. 

I can’t stress enough to have someone other than yourself, (preferably someone with a good acumen of the English language) looking at your finished draft. You would have to be that exceptional a writer, to spot your own flaws and mistakes. Keep going; you never know where the journey will take you.

All the very best on your journey and wishing you all success 🙂

Please see my post called ‘Thank you all,’ and my other post on writing called ‘writer’s block.’

First book jacket    Second book jacket

Available on amazon dot com, UK and US. Also now on kindle, expanded platforms etc.

– excerpts of each found to the right of my page under ‘Categories’ and an introduction to my completed third book, under ‘recent posts.’ This will be out by the end of September.

My author page on amazon: https://www.amazon.com/author/thenovelist

295 thoughts on “Substantiating the journey of my first two books

  1. Thank you for checking out my blog and you’ve got yourself a new follower. I will also be having a look at your author page and book.
    I’m amazed that through all of your challenges you won through.
    Thanks, you’re an inspiration for us all. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Very inspiring post, reminds me of a Ted Talk I watched once, the speaker kept repeating “people don’t buy what you do they buy why you do it.” If you write for money, your readers will be able to sense the lack of passion.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Your story and the journey is such an inspiration to me. I love writing and I write for me, but I also try at times to write for others as well. Your message and every word you wrote resonated with me and I shall take your advice. Keep up the great work on yourself and your writing. Keep spreading and sharing yourself with us all. I also want to thank you, for reading my blog. It is much appreciated! Blessings!

    Like

  4. I Iike your simple manner of stating the facts about writing and you are correct in saying too many of us won’t hit a million sales but it is the interesting innovative road that writing takes me that I enjoy most.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Enjoyed your post, really encouraging to read it as a new writer who began writing because of a overwhelming desire to try it, found out how much I enjoyed it and now dreaming of maybe one day getting stuff published! Thanks for your comments on my article earlier this week. Will look forward to reading more of your posts soon!

    Like

  6. I am so glad I discovered your blog. After you paid a visit to mine, I thought I’d visit yours. This post is very touching and has given me encouragement to start writing a book I’v been deliberating over. My partner is so supportive and believes in me more than myself. Thanks for stopping by and I look forward to being part of your community.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for being my first viewer. I haven’t written much but yet intend to change that! This post is great because I’ve just started writing a book myself. Looking forward to reading more about yours. =]

    Like

  8. Thank you for this. I started a book five years ago but have not revisited it in over three yrs. I know if I did it it would be well received, but just felt stuck after a while. Congratulations and good luck on your journey to maintaining mental wellnes.

    Like

  9. Thank you SO MUCH! Much you have said is so true–life happens when you try to write. And, we have to attend to life–even though there is a fire inside that wants to break through. (My house can attest to the fact that I have no interest in daily chores, when there’s a page in my book to write!) Thank you again for the encouragement! Vicki

    Like

    • I’m pleased and touched that you were inspired by even one word of what I wrote. Thank you for your visit and kind comment and I wish you all the inspiration to continue writing 🙂

      Like

  10. Good for you for believing in yourself and not giving up. I’m on the board of directors of Hampton Roads Writers and edit their newsletter. I know how difficult it is to get published by a traditional publisher. Many writers are seeking nontraditional ways. Another thing I would add is to join a critique group of writers you know are good. That has helped my writing tremendously. Keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for visiting and leaving a comment. Indeed, many of us have to try finding alternative ways to publish our material. Wishing you all the very best, in all respects.

      Like

  11. Good dаy! I could have sworn I’ve beeen to yսr blog before but ater looking at
    a few of the aгticles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmɑrking
    it and checking basck frequentlү!

    Like

  12. I finally had a chance to read your words of wisdom on this post. Thank you so much for sharing this long yet rewarding journey on your blog. I love the fact you are being so truthful when you said “to write because you enjoy writing…” Truly an inspiring post.
    Thank you again.

    Like

      • Last Updated8-19-2014

        E = mc2, equation in German-born physicistAlbert Einstein’s theory of special relativitythat showed that the increased relativisticmass (m) of a body comes from the energy of motion of the body—that is, its kinetic energy (E)—divided by the speed of lightsquared (c2). This equation expresses the fact that mass and energy are the same physical entity and can be changed into each other.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Thank you, so much, for taking the time to read my blog. I believe you’re one of the first, and very few, to do so. I would say “you have no idea how much I appreciate it” but I’m actually quite sure you do have an idea.

    I loved this post. You have a way with words that draws me in. Excellent advice for new writers as well!

    I look forward to reading more and I’ll certainly follow your work closely from now on.

    All the best,

    Michael Wheeler

    Like

    • You’re welcome; my pleasure. It takes a while to build up readership, but press on with it. Thank you for visiting and leaving your kind comment and I wish you every success with your blog page.
      Kind regards…

      Like

  14. I found this a great read and would like to thank you for the tips to writer’s. For a while now, I’ve been thinking about getting my stories out there, I thought about self publishing but I understand there is a cost for proof readers, editors, cover designers. I don’t have a lot of money to spend so hoping I can find someone who’ll do it for a reasonable price.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you again. Indeed, the publishing industry seems to be reserved for a few elites, so many are finding alternative routes and being successful. I hope you complete your work which will augur some reasonably priced professional to look at it for you. On this note, I wish you every auspiciousness.

      Like

    • Thank you. When I was writing, I wasn’t even thinking about publishing, as it was all done as a therapy. Publishing came after, so just keep writing; it will come 🙂

      Like

  15. Keep writing regardless of what others think or say. I write because I enjoy it. My writing encourages me, and if others benefit from it, that’s icing on the cake!

    Like

  16. That was a very nice piece of self-revealing and advice for new writers. You hit the nail on the head with that advice. Sometimes it’s hard to keep going. You have to have a passion for writing. I write but don’t have a particular passion for it, so, as a consequence, I’ve never finished the novel I started over 15 years ago, although I come back to it from time to time and work at tightening it up, but I haven’t written a new chapter in all this time. In fact, I haven’t even entered it all into the computer. I need to find a passion tree so I can take the bull by the horns and charge into the briars and kick this thing in the ***. Thanks for sharing. And thanks for stopping by my Photo Challenge and liking it.

    Like

    • My pleasure and thank you for you comment and visit. Writing varies from people to people, so just take it as it comes. I wish you all inspiration for the finish line, some day soon…

      Like

  17. “Just take the first step and pen down a few words at a time about what you believe in. Chances are, others will believe in it too. Not everyone will like or compliment your work, as that’s just the nature of the world. You cannot please everyone. Never judge yourself as you are writing”.
    Beautiful and inspiring words, just what I needed to hear as I tentatively embark on a book journey of my own. Thank you so much 🙂

    Like

  18. First off I would like to say fantastic blog!
    I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I have had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there.
    I do enjoy writing however it just seems like
    the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost just trying to figure
    out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Thanks!

    Like

    • Thanks for visiting and for your comment. Hmmm…the thing for me is that, I already have a structure and a basic idea of what I want to present beforehand. I formulate a theme and work within that, featuring topics or subjects that means something to me within the boundaries of that theme. So you could, for instance, think about a subject that you like discussing and then write along those lines. As you progress with that, other topics might emerge in your mind for you to write about also. Don’t know if this makes any sense, but that’s my two cents in getting started. Hope it helps somewhat 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

