An excerpt from ‘Assigned From Beyond’

An excerpt from Chapter 11 below the photo:

First book jacket
… Allison was almost sick to death from her irksome father who impulsively put a stop to every moment of recreation, or any little break she could have. Constantly forced to work like an ox, bombarded with house duties and being told to study her books, she could see no way out of that constricted existence.

Her heart was a turmoil of mixed feelings, fraught with sadness and resentment towards her mother for not being braver to either divorce Frank or at least take them away from that desolate prison term. Although Joan sometimes tried to squeeze in a few moments of relief to inspire them, Allison nevertheless felt that she was too weak in her mind and spirit and overly ruled by fear.

The family woke up bright and early for Church on the Sunday morning. Frank’s pugnacious and unforgiving nature impelled him to start yet another argument. He carried a grudge, which had risen from his wounded pride the day before, resenting his wife for some past misdemeanours for which he could not bring himself to forgive her. Still, Frank was proudly professing to be a venerable deacon among the Church members.

Tolerating each other, the two would nonetheless, every night share the same bed. Joan repeatedly snored while her husband would demonstratively pass air, perhaps the only genuine exchange between them. To err is human and to forgive is divine, but while passing air is human, breathing in those gaseous fumes, was certainly far from divine. Luckily, they were living in a holey place, with ample amounts of fresh air seeping through the numerous cracks and gaps, diffusing the dulling effect of these obnoxious odours. Allison was unsure of what exactly had started the discord between them. They were arguing relentlessly for hours, until Frank’s intolerance had reached a climax.

‘You want me to cut off your damn head?!’ he blazed onto the veranda in a reckless rage, clenching the machete he had been sharpening on the steps to go check on his crops.

‘Come and cut my neck!’ Joan angrily shouted at him from inside the house.

‘Shut your mouth!’ he snarled.

‘Don’t tell me to shut my mouth!’ she stridently reversed his statement.

‘I said, shut up! Shut you’re…’ he raged, clenching his teeth and hurling himself towards Joan, as he grappled her blouse.

‘Let go off my clothes!’ she screamed, taken back at her husband’s aggressive behaviour.

‘Don’t kill mommy!’ Allison squealed out of terror, horrified to see her lunatic father threatening Joan.

Perhaps effectuated by seeing Allison crying her eyes out, he released Joan who receded on the veranda chair, shaking from nervousness as he left her on the veranda; Allison crying out of shock. Frank returned to the steps where he continued sharpening his machete. Soon after, he took Robert with him to check on the farm.

Frightened, Allison’s heart rapidly beat from the adrenalin build-up, caused by this terrible onslaught of domestic abuse. No words would suitably describe the way she felt about her devilish father, seemingly possessed by evil spirits. Affected with dolour and being only young with little experience, she was not able to pacify her chocked-up mother. On few occasions, she had seen her mother crying out of despair. Allison had therefore hoped Joan would muster the courage to take off with her and her brothers, leaving Frank behind in the house that he anyway claimed was his property alone.

The atmosphere was still tensed, as Joan gravely prepared everyone for Church, except herself and her deranged husband. Allison reluctantly got herself ready and left with Harry. Frank returned with Robert, demanding him to get washed off and dressed, to meet him later at Church. They arrived in time to hear the congregation singing and clapping, loudly declaring that Jesus is alive and well. A few younger heads were now attending Church, with a pastor from another district, preaching there from time to time. Looking calm and collected, as if nothing had happened that morning, Frank arrived soon after to join with the other members, absorbed in the morning programme. The singing died down, when he and a few other deacons sat on the altar.

Seated, Allison groused with Madeline, the neighbour and daughter of the old man who regularly played on his banjo and was rumoured to use the insect repellent as a deodorant. Allison became appalled to see her audacious father, getting off his seat with feigned humility. To her dismay, Frank announced that he would not only personally conduct this morning’s ceremony, but also was to present the harangue of the day.

She had hoped that he would not be so daring as to actually stand up and preach about the love of God to the whole congregation. Only a few moments ago, he had threatened to decapitate his own wife, failing to even offer her as much as an apology, let alone a few words of regret. The concept of repentance was not entirely foreign to him, yet to see him apply it in practical reality, seemed more unimaginable than an ostrich losing a race with a tortoise. At the crest of his hypocrisy, Frank proudly stepped up to the stand and began lecturing in length and breadth, how one should forgive a wrongdoer, seventy times seven.

Allison’s heart felt as if it had fallen from her chest and sunken into her belly. Having seen the power of a water hose in one of the cartoons at her aunt’s house, lucid thoughts at this moment raced through her mind, of that very instrument, forcefully blowing her deranged father off the pulpit and finally giving peace a chance.

‘Jesus died for our sins and rose from the dead!’ Allison listened to her not so heavenly father, ranting and raving. She studied the image of the crucifix hanging on the wall behind him, supposedly that of Jesus Christ dying on the cross and pondered, that if Jesus has risen from the dead and is indeed alive and well, why then all this focus on him hanging there, dying on the cross?

Covertly blocking the ears with her fingers to avoid lending any further aural reception to her father’s hollow statements, Allison lowered herself into the seat behind a few members, to be out of the scope of his vision. Then and there, she concluded that a common tin of paint, which at least contains what the label says, would represent far more authenticity than her hypocritical father, who was not only emotionally unstable but indeed appeared to be qualifying for urgent medical attention and professional treatment, preferably in some far away lunatic asylum.

Frank received his communion, having ended the sermon on the mount of his sanctimonious self-deception, after which he made a show of giving his deeply personal testimony; his daughter showing her appreciation by the subtlety of her thumbnail clapping. Those who were baptised ate the flesh and drank the blood of Christ. Luckily, this sacrificial ritual was represented by broken pieces of yeasty bread and cheap red wine, the sought after ambrosia for those wishing to live a more sanctified life.

In the evening, one could have heard a pin drop, as the family ate in total silence. Allison went to bed that night, vying and praying to be released from that abject existence. The lifestyle of her father, too desperate to be adored, she felt was one to be definitively abhorred. Seeing Frank with his sharpened machete, chopping up his wife into small portions, in a final mad attack, Allison woke up from her nightmare. Neither able to go back to sleep, nor daring to reveal her terrified mind to anyone, she silently tolerated the effect of this horrible scene that left another vivid imprint on her memory…

86 thoughts on “An excerpt from ‘Assigned From Beyond’

  1. Writing for me is not something i can do, it is something I can not do better than the breath of God wants me to. For money, not me, I can assure you. for fame, forget about it, but to see the painting of MRS. Lisa Gherardini (Mona Lisa) in the Louvre , auggh Yes, Yes, a thousand times yes. One other thing , we are all connected, it is what makes life worth living, the tomorrows and the yesterdays. Thank you for your strong touching life and your work. David

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your kind comment. It took me a while from thinking about it, to actually getting it down on paper. So, you never know when the inspiration descends for you to compose one. When that happens, I wish you an engaging journey.

      Like

  2. I have every sympathy with your story having had a similar upbringing in many ways, although the violence stopped at machetes. I love your style, it is very individual, interesting and really gives the reader the sense of real terror. Stories like this should be told. Well done.

    Like

  3. Great post! I think we write because we have to. It iis the only way we can make sense of things. The characters of my first novel grew to be part of me and eventually held me hostage. So much that at one point, I had to write a sequel to find out was going to happen next–in the world I had created.

    Like

  4. congratulations to you on your books, good stuff! I do believe in Karma. Have you ever heard of createspace to publish your books? I used them, mainly because I did not have to pay megabucks upfront to print books that would not sell, but found them very easy to use, very happy with the whole process.

    Like

  5. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this post to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for
    sharing!

    Like

  6. Terrific article! That is the kind of info that should be shared across the web.
    Shame on the seek engines for now not positioning this publish higher!

    Come on over and discuss with my web site . Thanks =)

    Like

    • Oh my gosh. I feel extra humbled to read this. I’m speechless as to what to reply, other than to say thank you ever so much. May auspiciousness be yours, in every way.

      Like

  7. Having read this I thought it was really enlightening.

    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this content
    together. I once again find myself personally spending
    a significant amount of time both reading and commenting.

    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

    Like

  8. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work
    so I decided to check out your site on my iphone
    during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and
    can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful site!

    Like

  9. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both educative and engaging,
    and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something too few people are speaking intelligently
    about. I’m very happy I came across this in my hunt for something concerning this.

    Like

  10. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I’ve really loved browsing your weblog
    posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write once more soon!

    Like

  11. Thanks, I also accidentally (?!) came to your site today, and, as yet, only read the top article – Hilarious! thanks to all the mistakes we all make, all the time! All I can say is that ‘It is better to go to the next place minus ALL limbs’ (something like that anyway!), and ALL our money 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. After study a few of the blog posts on your website now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.

    Like

  13. I have been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I
    never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site
    owners and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

  14. Wow, wonderful blog format! How long have you ever been blogging for?
    you made blogging glance easy. The overall glance of your web site is wonderful, as smartly as the content!

    Like

  15. I am no longer certain the place you’re getting your information, however great topic.

    I needs to spend a while learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for magnificent info I was searching for this information for
    my mission.

    Like

  16. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any helpful hints for novice blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    Like

    • Thanks for visiting and for leaving a comment. Hmm, tips. The only thing I can say, is just blog about what means something to you and in turn, you may find souls that connect with that. I show interest in other peoples’ posts and some of them reciprocate. ‘Like’ their posts or leave a nice comment and maybe they will come back to your page. I’m not expert at blogging, so this is just my own amateurish reply.

      Like

  17. Hi there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to
    all your posts! Keep up the superb work!

    Like

  18. We absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for you personally? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome website!|

    Like

  19. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog. I am hoping the same high-grade site post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own blog now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Like

  20. Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog
    stand out. Please let me know where you got your design. Many thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

